Oh alright. A love poem: John Donne

 

Though I prefer a man with a beard, myself.

 

 

Negative Love

 

I never stoop’d so low, as they

Which on an eye, cheek, lip, can prey,

Seldom to them which soar no higher

Than virtue, or the mind to admire,

For sense and understanding may

Know what gives fuel to their fire:

My love, though silly, is more brave,

For may I miss, whene’er I crave,

If I know yet what I would have.

 

If that be simply perfectest,

Which can by no way be express’d

But negatives, my love is so.

To all, which all love, I say no.

If any who deciphers best,

What we know not, ourselves, can know,

Let him teach me that nothing; this

As yet my ease and comfort is,

Though I speed not, I cannot miss.

 

 

It’s quite beautiful really…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry turnstile

Leave a Reply

