Fast Forward. Stop. Reset: managing writer’s frustration and thesis stress

 

I was stressing to the point of not being able to sit down long enough to write a sentence yesterday morning so I phoned my friend (and fellow anthropologist) who told me to stop throwing a tantrum – to go for a run and let off steam.

This would usually be my default strategy for processing analytical knots and dealing with stress. I think I was just so intent on meeting the deadline I’d set myself that I had also convinced myself that I didn’t have time. Always time. Never ‘not’ time when it comes to writer’s block or thesis stress. Thank you to aforementioned friend for putting up with my tantrum and dealing in sound advice.

My thought process in this clip, should you wish to follow, goes something like this:

 

“Stupid f*#$%g s*#@^, thesis f*#$ng  sh*#”  →   “Weber, Methodism, paper, bureaucracy, alienation, paper, fetish, estranged, money, paper”   →  “emotion, motivation, oh yeah I forgot about Spiro”   →   “cut out section 1.2.5. it’s superfluous and distracting”   →   “misrecognition, morality, intercultural, bookend, matches Chapter 7 that’s right, link in”   →   “hose-shower haha I’m going to write at the pub!”

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Thesis/Yolngu related writing

One response to “Fast Forward. Stop. Reset: managing writer’s frustration and thesis stress

Leave a Reply

