What not to do toward the end of your thesis

I’m sickly….urgh….and have been less than 80% for three weeks now. Sinusitis, Gastritis and now exhausted and run-down.

What not to do toward the end of your thesis?

Too many days and nights of ‘I can get this whole section revised !no worries! if I just…..don’t move from my desk……..if I eat dodgy vegetarian take-away instead of riding my bike 15-minutes home to prepare fresh wholesome food because that would mean having to move from my desk……..if I don’t ride my bike 15-minutes home to exercise my dog because that would mean having to move from my desk………if I drink heaaaps of coffee and eat lollies and stay up reaaalllly late at my desk here typing and working (and thus lose hours and hours hours of sleep) because……..that’s just how I’m going to get this whole section revised and finished and done and sent off to my supervisors toonight! Ba baow. Fail. Bad idea. No do. 

I’m at home in my ugg-boots and nighty recovering (sneaking bits of reading and writing when I’m home alone).

When I am fully recovered I will proceed in the most sensible of fashions and will finish my thesis in a sustainable manner (to which I must now become rapidly accustomed).

No matter how exciting your idea or *ding* theoretical/analytical breakthrough it can wait until tomorrow. Ride your bicycle home, exercise your dog, cook wholesome fresh food and get some sleep.

In the meantime at least I have Mauss and Sahlins and Munn and my thesis draft and my dogs to hide-out with.

3 Comments

Filed under General personal writings, Incidental, Thesis/Yolngu related writing

3 responses to “What not to do toward the end of your thesis

  1. Farida Iqbal

    If you want I can bring you mung bean porridge.

  2. When your supervisor was doing your tute on mon I guessed as much😉. Naughty girl! Feel better soon! Willing to bring ginseng/tea/yummy food to expediate. Xx

  3. Thanks of many thanks’ you guys. I’m still strictly in the “I am disgusting” quarantine ward at the moment, but hope to wheel myself into the daylight soon. xo

Leave a Reply

