Poetry Turnstyle: Kevin Gilbert

aboriginal-flag

After an inspirational day meeting Canberra folk involved in the Indigenous rights struggle I thought it fitting to post a poem by the late Indigenous activist and author Kevin Gilbert.

 

Think (1971)

 

My father was white
He killed his wife
She was a half-caste
She was my mother

I am a half-caste
I killed a white

She was my wife

I stay on my
side of the coin
you on the other

When it spins
into the air
next time
who will come
out on top?

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry turnstile

Leave a Reply

