Slightly frustrated administrative speech bubble: trying to infer what your reader needs to know..

I am still working on the first chapter.

I’m finding that the most difficult thing about writing is knowing what the reader needs to know – what needs to be made explicit and, or, what can be simply inferred.

I remember how surprised I was after my post-field-work seminar when a colleague asked for clarification about a number of expressions I’d used (translated from Yolngu matha), e.g. “where is the person that will gift us their ears.” Apparently they seemed very odd in-and-of themselves.

That was the point at which I realised that writing ethnography is as much about recognising when and how to scaffold exegesis as anything else.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Thesis/Yolngu related writing

Leave a Reply

